Easter Weekend Fun

Friday: I went to see Furious7 with RJH at a packed theater in Williamsburg. It did not disappoint! I laughed, I cheered and yes – I cried a bit. Now I want to go back and watch the previous six then find my way back to a theater to watch (what is hope is) the final installment (because it would not be the same without PW). RJH was on a high because she finally released her documentary online so she was exceptionally keen on the ridiculously over-the-top action sequences. Shameless plug – her film Black & Cuba is available for purchase so check it out!

Saturday: I cleaned the beejesus out of my living room. I went in hard on the windows, mirrors, trim, floor and baseboards (moving furniture around and everything). I’ve mentioned before how much I love the smell of my cleaning products, then add to that the tunes from the LL Cool J station on Pandora and you get one fantastic morning. Not to mention how lucky I am to rent from such wonderful people – my landlord pulled out his bike to go to Whole Foods to get meat for the grill and offered to pick things up for me. So nice. I declined, knowing that my grocery list was a mile long because I was cooking for Easter the next day… but still SO NICE.

After reassembling the living room, I met my friend Dre for the NYC Pillow Fight. When he got there, much to my dismay, I noticed that he didn’t have a pillow. Hmmm. When I asked something along the lines of “where the frack is your pillow?” he said he was just going to watch. WHAT? We went straightaway and bought a pillow for him because I’d deemed not participating as unacceptable.

We got to the park about 15 minutes before the event started and there was a show within a show. Lots of costumes and a Dustin Hoffman look-alike (or not?) made for good people watching. At 3p exactly (with no announcement whatsoever) the pillows began to fly. At first it was weird hitting perfect strangers with a pillow, but it didn’t take long for me to really get into it. Most people were giggling uncontrollably, just like me, and not out to hurt anyone. Fourteen minutes later I tapped out. Pillow fighting is TIRING. Do not ridicule me until you try it – endless pillow fighting energy must dissipate after 30.

20150406-200720-72440637.jpg20150406-200723-72443603.jpg20150406-200721-72441914.jpg

Sunday: Easter dinner with friends. I made ham and a few dishes I’ve made before and tired out PCC’s Cream Scones (hit!), Pear Roquefort Salad (big hit!) and Spring Orzo Salad (miss, but my fault – I overcooked the orzo… it didn’t take as long as the directions said).

I forgot to take pictures because I was getting food out (but this time I remembered to add in time to shower before guests arrived), but take my word for it that it was great. Folks filtered out around 7p and then I did the dishes and crashed. I was exhausted, but the good kind of exhaustion. Lots of fun, lots of love, life is good. If I can’t be with my family for the holiday, framily is a great substitute.

#grateful

One thought on “Easter Weekend Fun

  1. My daughter knows how to make the most of every minute!! It was way fun just reading about your weekend.
    Love you & miss you! Say hi to the framily.

Leave a comment