Lucky Me

Friday night:
20140819-055900-21540234.jpg

I’d seen this book on a number of “Summer Must Reads” lists but hadn’t the chance yet to pick it up, then I saw that she was coming to read and sign at a bookstore near me. Bonus – it was a bookstore I’d not yet explored.
20140819-055929-21569150.jpg

She was completely delightful, extraordinarily awesome, a tad snarky with a wonderful sense of humor. She read from her book with style, ease and the perfect amount of punchy, giving a good insight into the characters on the page that she was bringing to life.

The book has been purchased and moved to next in line on my reading list. Can’t wait! After pseudo-meeting her, even if I don’t like the book (which seems unlikely), I think I’ll always be a fan of Amy’s.

20140819-055953-21593224.jpg

Saturday I had a date with a couple of moms for an afternoon in the Theater District. My friend’s mom is working in DC for a couple of months and her (my friend’s) husband’s mom is currently in Boston (same folks I spent the 4th with), so they both came to my new city (Boston mom’s playground) where was had a fun started early with wine in water glasses more food than we could imagine at Carmine’s. We ordered three plates and it was enough for a party twice or size! Having the shortest commute they sent the leftovers home with me and it took a couple of days to polish off – even with having pasta for breakfast! (I think I tried to set some kind of parenthesis record just now; sorry.)

After lunch we walked a long block to see Motown. It was fantastic! The performances were impressive, and there was one boy who played young Berry Gordy, young Stevie Wonder and young Michael Jackson. Whoa, could that kid dance!

20140819-214550-78350079.jpg
The show brought back memories of spring cleaning, when my dad would bring out records and we’d all clean while he took care of the music. Maybe it only happened once, but it’s stuck in my head as if it happened every year. I do recall that my dad never actually cleaned anything. Regardless, I kept thinking of how much both of my parents would love and appreciate the show.

The weekend was capped with a free concert that was part of the Soul of Brooklyn Festival Kickoff. A young woman with a sweet face had the first set so me and my two homegirls from Seattle did our best screaming and hollering to make her feel welcome.

Dinner, two drinks and a nice chat with SN international DJ later, it was time to call it a night.

Ahhhh….

2 thoughts on “Lucky Me

  1. Sounds like an awesome week/weekend – you couldn’t possibly have done this all in one weekend. But then, you are Cecily, so it is possible! Glad to see you having so much fun and hanging with lots of peeps! This is inspiring to get my booty in gear and find a weekend to come and visit! Not that I need much prodding! 🙂 Can’t wait to hear what you explore next!

    • Look who’s talking, Ms. Social Butterfly! Lol. Oooh, yes – love that posts like these might get you here faster!

Leave a comment