Ghost Dog: The Way of the Samarai

With a summary like this, how could I not go to see this movie?

Hip hop, samurai culture, and italian gangsters come together in this oddly quiet action movie by independent spirit Jim Jarmusch.

I am also trying to eeck out my free events before summer ends – which, in the NYC, is Labor Day. So different than the PNW where we hold on as long as possible. I swear, people are already talking about digging put their Fall and Winter clothes. I choose to put my hands over my ears and say, “lalalalalala.”

Getting back to the point, one of the many Summer events by BrooklynBridgePark.org as Syfy Movies with a View. And what a view it is. It’s the same park where I saw Shakespeare at Sunset, but a Harbor view lawn (where they show the movies) is a bit north of the Granite Steps (for SitP).

20140815-235222-85942398.jpg

 

The setting was divine, the movie… meh. I’m 100% sure that I missed 99% of the symbolism. There was some deep stuff, I think. I mean, the thing with the girl and the ice cream and her lunch box, the birds, and all of the quotes – I just know they meant something. The movie actually got 7.7 of 10 on IMDB, and I talked to a friend today who saw it years ago and loved it. There were some good moments of comic relief, both in the film and from the woman sitting behind me who we occasionally yell out things like, “Oh no he didn’t!” and “Whoa, uh, oh – fancy moves!” and “Aw look at that! They got the dude from the thing right there.”

Honestly, I kept thinking throughout the entire movie, “I know a certain Mr. Mitchell would would love this movie.” I wouldn’t doubt he’s already seen it. And I know some of you, my beloved readers, know this Mr. Mitchell and the kind of movie he would pick to watch. Take that as you will, but you know it has merit.

Regardless, it was a beautiful night, the view was fantastic, and while Ghost Dog isn’t a bad movie, if just wasn’t my cup of tea on that particular evening.

Lastly, if you happen to run into Mr.Mitchell, please pass along the movie recommendation. It really is his kind of flick.

2 thoughts on “Ghost Dog: The Way of the Samarai

  1. I’ll let him know! Although I may encourage Mr. Mitchell to watch it on a day that I’m not home 🙂

Leave a comment