Jeni’s Ice Cream

One day at work, while extolling the virtues of Molly Moon’s ice cream and how her chocolate is the only chocolate ice cream that I like, my co-worker asked me if I’d had Jeni’s. From the sound of it, Jeni is to Columbus like Molly is to Seattle. Soon after I found out that there was a Jeni’s Pop-up Shop in Gotham West Market for the summer. 

Now, Gotham West Market is in Hell’s Kitchen, and kinda deep Hell’s Kitchen (a.k.a. not close to me, nor it is on my way to get anywhere) but it was “Jeni’s” so I had to try it, right? 

Since it’s NYC and nothing happens in the morning on the weekends (not even sports), I figured I’d take this past Saturday to leave “early” (10am), go see a movie (Guardians of the Galaxy is AWESOME!) and get to Gotham West a bit after they opened and make it home in time for the WNBA Finals (not the best game… eesh). 

I ordered four half scoops for an NYC-reasonable $8: Dark Chocolate, Riesling Poached Pear Sorbet, Salty Caramel and Sweet Cream Biscuits & Peach Jam. I will admit – they were all yummy. The Poached Pear was really good, but thicker than I expected – like really pear-y – but the taste was ooo-la-la. The Caramel was a bit too sweet (most are for my taste; I still had to try it) and the chocolate was really pretty darn good. My favorite was the Biscuits & Jam; it was nice and creamy, just the right balance of sweet, chunky and smooth. 

All in all, it was worth going out of my way to try it before the closed doors for the winter. But head-to-head against Molly Moon’s? I’m sure I’m biased, but Molly wins that smackdown. 

Leave a comment