Burger Challenge #3: The Burger Joint

If you are a keen reader, you may have noticed that we jumped from Burger Challenge #1 to Burger Challenge #3. Not to worry, Challenge #2 (and a bonus 2.5) was completed, it just hasn’t yet been expelled in word form from the prefrontal cortex (or medial temporal lobe?). It will come, but in the meantime…

20141024-061405-22445155.jpg20141024-061404-22444268.jpgFor Burger Challenge #3, our duo grew to a trio, welcoming Miss Heather to our challenge team. Please note: she will henceforth be referred to by her challenge name of “H-Money”. Tim-Dog chose the #2 rated burger by Zagat – The Burger Joint, we patronized the Greenwich Village location.

It was a breath of fresh air after BC#2 – somewhat back to our “roots” as established at the Corner Bistro. Comfy yet airy in feel, a neighborhood establishment down to the stories the old wooden bar could tell. The blissfully short menus were hand written in marker on cardboard, laminated with tape.

20141024-061403-22443427.jpg

However, while The Burger Joint gets high marks for ambience, it gets very low marks for efficiency. We were one of three groups in the joint, and three of six people. It took awhile to (1) place our orders, (2) get our drinks, (3), get our food and (4) get our bill. Basically, nothing at all happened quickly. Not that we were in a huge hurry, but we were on a bit of a timeline since we had to get back to work. And there was no one else in there, really.

Lastly, they have skinny fries – and now, with H-Money it’s two against one for skinny fries vs non. One of these days I’ll get my thick fries and I may end up giving my first 5-star review for a burger because I’m so overwhelmed with joy! Alas, my burger review is for the burger only – I promise that I will always stay true to that. Even during times of great happiness.

20141024-061406-22446050.jpg20141024-061406-22446882.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

CFox Reviews The Burger Joint:

I stuck to what is now my tradition for the BC, a bacon cheeseburger with all the fixin’s they usually pile on, ordered medium. As you can see above, they don’t even bother with a plate like Corner Bistro, they just wrap it in paper and deliver it with fries in a bag. My medium burger was much closer to medium well, but still tasty meat. The bun was just like the cheap ones from the grocery store that are an 8-pack for $1.50 (or something like that). The burger pretty much just fit that bun, no extra beef hanging over the side. The bacon was a good crispy, just under being so crisp that it would fragment when bitten. The slices of tomato were on the thicker side, which I liked, and the pickles were a nice, traditional dill. I didn’t add ketchup or mustard, and really enjoyed the burger. It was the first of the challenge burgers that made it to the last bite intact, so that was a bonus. Overall, I liked the balance of ingredients and everything tasted fresh. It was on par with Corner Bistro, but does not exceed. Rated 3.5 of 5 stars; only to be recommended for folks who want to have a drink or two and a leisurely burger experience.

H-Money Reviews The Burger Joint:

Overall, I give this experience 4 out of 5 – my reasons are below:

  • I thought the burger was great – I packed on the toppings excluding l’onion. There was plenty of ketchup (my jam) and mustard/ mayo with an even array of tomatoes and lettuce. It was also cooked to my liking (well done), which usually is not the preferred level of cooking for a burger, but this place did my order perfectly.
  • I also really liked the French fries. I prefer the thin crispy fries over the thicker steak fries and this place had the thin crispy ones, which was a plus.
  • There was a perfect amount of food, which left the visitor not too hungry and not too full upon exiting the establishment.
  • My one disappointment would probably be the timeliness of the food delivery. Though the employees of the restaurant were very nice and welcoming, it took a while to get the food, which was surprising as it was a Monday at lunchtime.

Other than that, I enjoyed my food and company at The Burger Joint and I look forward to the next burger challenge!

Tim-Dog’s Reviews The Burger Joint:

Located nowhere near a subway, a few block walk minimum, tucked amongst various Halloween stores you’ll find the burger joint… right next to the sticky finger. The place is aptly named…… as the joint is awesome – old bar feel, with awesome music and interesting menus, card board with marker and very slow old school waitress… the burger.. not so much, small and very veggie heavy, and long wait. Price was right @ 8$ but you get what you pay for, not very meaty and not worth the hype of #2 burger in NYC – although the ranking strangely  makes sense –  you can’t eat a big burger if you want to fit into your skinny jeans….. so to end with a classic quote from Clara Peller……. “Where’s the Beef”.

Rating was a 3.2 out of 5.

One thought on “Burger Challenge #3: The Burger Joint

Leave a comment