First Dip in the Caribbean

My first winter (last winter) in the Northeast was a snowy monster. Coming from the PNW’s mild climate I was in a complete state of shock and barely knew how to function. Oh, silly me… how little did I know. This year we have been spared the copious amounts of snow (until now), but were instead dealt serving after serving of cold with a side of wind. I resorted to taking three trains home instead of one to limit my time outdoors. Is it worth the rigmarole? Yes, it’s 100% totally and completely worth it.

Anyway, after last year’s winter I understood why everyone scheduled holiday in January and February. My mindset had previously been – why use vacation that early in the year? You never know what is going to come up later that you’ll need the time for? I admit this was a very flawed way of thinking, especially now that I’ve experienced endless days of wind that was legitimately trying to rip the skin off my face. So, when Kenyatta said she wanted to go to St John USVI for her birthday I jumped on it!

The last week of February Kenyatta, Robin and I boarded a plane to St John, giddy that we were flying out of 16 degree weather and a few hours later would experience temperatures that were more that 60 degrees above what we’d left. Come to me 80s! St John is the smallest of the three US Virgin Islands, and (from what I’ve read) the most “unspoiled.” Sixty percent of the island is a national park and the elevation peaks at 1,277 feet. Considering the island is only 20 square miles – 7 miles long by 3 miles wide – that means steep hills. Pair that with the climate and the lush plant life, hiking is almost as popular here as beach and water activities. If you are looking for a place to party, this is probably not a good fit. If you are looking for the kind of getaway that might appeal for three ladies hovering near 40 years young, this island is just what the serenity goddess would suggest.

photo 2

We spent our days at the beach and nights at the villa, turning in most nights by 10pm. One morning was spent at a Folklife Festival that was attended mostly by locals. Schoolchildren provided the entertainment in the forms of drumming, singing and even some dancing. One of my favorite moments came from watching an adult woman working a few teen girls on traditional dance moves. She was showing the girls body movement that started in her hips then travelled upward through her torso in a rolling fashion, flowing to her chest and shoulders before continuing through her arms and wrists then somehow finding its way back to her hips to start all over again. When the girls tried it, they began to giggle uncomfortably. In a tone that was soothing, confident and powerful, she told them, “Don’t be afraid of your body.” Of everything I experienced on the trip, that has stayed with me the most.

photo 1

Our latest night out was on K’s birthday itself. We went to dinner at Fatty Crab, where the food was delicious, the service was great, and having dinner on the deck – outside in the warmth feeling the full effect of the island – was the perfect way to celebrate the start of a new year full of possibilities.

One last notable event… I mentioned that I wanted to check skinny dipping of my bucket list; it’s something I’ve always wanted to do but never really had the opportunity (or cojones) to actually do it. Well, be careful what you say in front of Robin. She was 100% on board and as I began to look for excuses why it wouldn’t work, she became more determined that we would check it off my list and very accurately calling me out. I think her exact words were, “You’ll never do it unless someone is with you pushing you.” Not literally pushing me into the water, rather making sure I don’t punk out. Darn it if she wasn’t right.

We took the long way home so we could stop by a beach we found during an earlier self-tour of the island, and holy wow it’s amazing how much light moon the reflects! So much for the cover of night. While Kenyatta and Robin gazed at the view, quickly (before I could chicken out) I stripped, hung my clothes in tree and raced into the water. I have to say, it was pretty amazing. I’m so glad I had a friend there to forcefully encourage me to get out of my own head and embrace the moment.

Then we flew home to this:

photo 3

Yeah. But I have pictures and memories (and today it was in the mid-40s!!), to get me through until I see the sun again (in a couple of weeks – I know; I really can’t complain).

One thought on “First Dip in the Caribbean

Leave a comment