Ringing Out 2012

Can you believe that 2012 is over already? I can’t believe it, I tell ya. It was a fun year, but I have to say that I’m looking forward to 2013 – a year that will undoubtedly (hopefully?) bring lots of change and more travel!

But first, a look back on how I did with my 2012 resolution – “take more weekend trips” and not focus only on one big trip each year. Hmm, I think I get both a thumbs-up and a thumbs-down on this one. When I constructed this resolution, my intent was to keep an eye out for fare specials and go visit relatives or friends in their “native element”, or take a short road trip to a northwest locale for a nice getaway. I did neither, but I still took a number of small(er) trips.

I went to San Francisco, Columbus, Delaware and New York for work, extending my time in San Francisco and New York through the weekend. I met a new group of girlfriends in Miami for my friend’s 40th birthday celebration, Columbus (again) for a wedding, and a SoCal trip with Rugrat to look at colleges. I also went to Costa Rica, but that was the “big” trip of the year. My only local trip, I think, was E WA for the first round of Women’s March Madness (where I did stay with a friend). So while I am happy that I had my weekend getaways, I have on my list this year to go to Portland, Vancouver, or the ocean for a weekend of… being somewhere else.

My resolution for 2013 is to, if I see something I like (fashion-wise), to buy it and wear it. I tend to like something but think that it’s not “me” or that it’s too crazy to actually wear. Well you know what? Who. Cares. I need to be a little more daring with my fashion choices, more than just wearing a colored shirt. Live a little; take a few chances. This is the year I need to shake it up and be a bit bolder.

And yes, the slogan. This year it was really difficult trying to find a slogan that encompassed all of the hopes and dreams I have for 2013. After much hemming and hawing, I threw out my slogan an stole a new one from a Nike ad campaign from last year – Make it Count. Every event, every workout (which there will be more of), every day. As they tend to do, the Nike Marketing team summed up my thoughts better than I could have done.

Have a great new year! I hope you remembered to eat some black-eyed peas for luck! As much as I love Black-Eyes Peas and Leeks, I was struck by the lazy bug so got some Hoppin’ Joan Salad from PCC to ensure I was all set for this year.

Have a wonderful 2013!

Leave a comment