A Slice of Heaven

I hope you are sitting down, because this is BIG news.

I WENT TO MYSTIC PIZZA! An item that was near the top (if not at the top) of my “When I’m on the East Coast” bucket list.

A couple of girlfriends and I were driving to MA for a group getaway on Martha’s Vineyard and Robin J mentioned something about Mystic Pizza. After minimal questioning I found out that we would be driving right by Mystic and we had time to stop for lunch! I pretty much hopped out of my seat with a highly euphoric happy dance. MYSTIC PIZZA!!
20140803-202651-73611457.jpg
We didn’t bother waiting for a table, instead scoring a couple of stools in the bar/takeaway offshoot of the restaurant. The restaurant is different than the movie, so would have been pointless to wait all that time for a table.

20140803-202752-73672629.jpg
Slices were available in cheese, pepperoni or the slice of the day, but I was going to get the House Special (duh!) even if I had to get a whole pizza just for me. Robin J and Tress were all in, though – such good sports – so it was the House Special for us all.

20140803-203009-73809808.jpg
The pizza was SO good – that sauce was no joke. All I could think of was “What the hell do you think Leona really puts in that pizza?”

20140803-203442-74082178.jpg

It was definitely a slice of Heaven. Afterward Tress presented me with my very own Mystic Pizza pin, saying she couldn’t let me leave without a souvenir. So sweet!

20140803-204208-74528196.jpg
Such an awesome day; I’ll ride this high for awhile.

6 thoughts on “A Slice of Heaven

  1. Loved reading this – made me want to re-watch the movie. I got rid of my VHS copy a few years ago. Yes, I held onto it that long. Thanks for sharing the pics and your experience.

    • Haha! Not sure if you saw that my mom STILL has her VHS copy. 🙂 Hope you found it online. Ah, those 80s memories just refuse to die. Thank goodness.

  2. Oh man, oh man, oh man, I can actually smell the pizza from here! I am so gonna watch Mystic Pizza again, and yes, on VHS! So glad you got to go!

Leave a comment