Undefeated

I drafted this back in February, when I was desperately trying to postpone football withdrawal after the Seahawks unbelievable season. I’d forgotten about it until I saw Pete Carroll tweet today that he was going to co-host a webcast with Bill Courtney this Wed at 1pm PT and I thought, “Bill Courtney… I recognize that name!” I hope I’ll be able to tune in a and hear what they have to say.

Original Text:

Bill Courtney, Volunteer Coach at Manassas High School in Memphis
“I had to come off the hook three times yesterday. I had to cuss way too much. I have to go home and pray for forgiveness at the way I talked to these young guys, and I don’t want to be driven there again. Please do not make me act a fool out here to get y’all motivated.”

The quote alone should be enough to get you to watch.

This documentary covers a pivotal football season for a team with something to prove and all odds against them. It does a wonderful job of exposing the reality behind what these kids and coaches have to face. The honesty of the coach is raw and uplifting; the boys’ stories will break your heart – either because you didn’t know it could be that hard or because you know it all too well.

It’s available on Netflix, and a great way to extend the football season a little bit longer.

Leave a comment