Never Too Late…

IMG_1009…to figure out how to properly execute moves in this game called basketball that I’ve been playing for the last nine years. So I signed up for a class that will basically be like playing for a real team – except there’s only one practice per week instead of five, no additional strength training, and practice is only a hour and 15 minutes. And no yelling. The first half of each session is spent on fundamentals, drills, and positioning and the second half of the each session is a full court scrimmage.

I am so looking forward to being able to steal a ball, fast break down the court, dish a sweet pass, and make a frickin’ layup! Lofty goals I know, but one cannot live on the 3 point shot alone – especially when it’s not consistent. The class is 10 weeks and it sounds like folks sometimes repeat it, but there is also an Intermediate/Advanced class that maybe I can try at some point in the future. Either way, this will be a nice complement to the women’s monthly pick-up games and will give me a bit more confidence when tryouts come around for the league I’d like to play in.

Two practices in and so far it’s a lot of fun – not quite as intense as I anticipated, but there’s a great group of us with varying skill levels. And most are like me – good in some areas, not so good in others. I definitely need to work on dribbling! And my nemesis… lay-ups! It’s amazing how you can’t hide your weaknesses at all when executing drills.

Next skills updates in a couple of months! Let’s see how far I progress.

Leave a comment