RAM-September: Stumbling Goat Bistro

I am horrible! Jaimes and I started our Restaurant-a-Month (RAM) in September, but I have not been filling you in! So, I’m backing it up to restaurant #1… Stumbling Goat Bistro.

First off, we both very much enjoyed ourselves.  

I can’t remember what Jaimes started with, but I got the Butter Lettuce Salad. It was yummy, but not quite as hazelnutty as expected.

For our entrees, Jaimes got the Braised Thundering Hooves Oxtail and Tagliatelle and I the Corn and Chanterelle Risotto. I’m a sucker for Risotto so thought it was great, but if memory serves me, Jaimes felt her oxtails were fine but not as good as the ones from Island Soul.  

Dessert can make or break a meal sometimes. Jaimes got the Salted Caramel Pots de Crème while I indulged in the Rustic Berry Tart. The tart went against my usual decision breaker of “will you make this at home?” because I can, and will in a heartbeat, make a berry tart at home. At the very least something similar like a Pie in a Jar. Anyway, the tart was fine, nothing spectacular. The Pots de Crème came back with a “meh” rating, with a delcious taste but lacking the anticipated flavor complexity from the salt.

Overall, like I said, we enjoyed ourselves. The food was delicious and the service great. However, the mood of the restaurant was more casual, and had the vibe of a nicer a neighborhood joint. That said, I feel like the price points did not match that restaurant mood. But still, good stuff.

Leave a comment